Playing With Fire!

Will today be the last time I hug or kiss him bye?

My husband been working at our town’s over tire shop on and off for 5 years. I worry everyday that today will be the last day I see him alive. There are so many issues with this shop, But when you live in a small town like we do jobs are scarce and you take one if you can find it.

 

Since Dumpy (My Husband) began working there I’ve noticed many hazardous  conditions that him and the fellow-men have to work in. The boss doesn’t do much of the labor work and really doesn’t seem to care about the employees safety. When something does happen he just laughs and says,”That’ll happen sometimes.” Sometimes when I think about it I don’t want to let him go to work. Here are just a few hazardous conditions;

 

  • On one occasion a fellow employee was rushed by the boss to get a vehicle in and out, He set the lift for the vehcile and it slipped and  barely missed him.

 

  • Sometimes when a tractor tire comes in to be repaired they are instructed to empty the remained fluid and refill once the tire has been fixed, They are never given protection equipment when handling this dangerous chemical.

 

  • On occasions when filling a tire with air they can exploded if the tire is not in good condition, Normally it’s powerful enough to knock an employee multiple feet away, Yet their boss does not instruct them to use the safety cage when doing so.

 

  • When fixing a hole in a tire they used a patch, They are told to make sure it has a good seal to put Lighter fluid on the patch and light it with a cigarette lighter. (Yes! A lighter with NO protection!)

 

Today Dumpy had to do just that, He had to fix a hole in a tire and do you wanna guess what happened???

 

After He put the fluid on the patch and lit it the flame circled back and practically exploded in his face causing the hair on his beard, hair, arms, chest, knuckles, hands, nose to be singed and it burned his lips along with the tip of his tongue.

 

Afterwards, I had called to tell the manager to write a report up for me since the boss was gone because odds are I was talking him to the ER and his/her reply was, “Why? There’s nothing their gonna do.” Because of that statement Dumpy decided not to go and just deal with the pain, We honestly can’t afford another medical bill if they didn’t write a report up for the Workers Comp.

This wasn’t the first and probably not the last incident to happen,  continue to worry everyday when he goes to work what will be in store next. My only hope is that God will protect him and find him a better and safer job soon!

All I can really pray is, “Lord, Please protect my man!”

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑